Yardwork

caterpillar, bulldozer, evergreen machinery, yard work, yellow construction machine, tracks, dirty, shovel, bit. highway 99, aurora, construction equipment
I’ve never been terribly fond of yardwork. Raking leaves in particular seems like an endless task in futility. They are just going to keep falling, thousands more every day, getting wet and grimy from rain and road grit. After they’re all picked up, a year later, they’ll come down again. As I consider it, maybe the problem with raking isn’t the punitive task of repeatedly trying to coax nature into a more presentable state, maybe the problem is that I don’t have the right rake. I’m always having to pull the leaves out of the flimsy weakly springy tines. They are always getting bent as I drag them across the sidewalk, offering up a pathetic scratchy cry with every sweep of foliage. The plastic ones aren’t much better, it feels like I’m pulling a spatula across the lawn. I want something with strength, power, with true purpose, something that will teach those leaves and the ground they fall on a good lesson. I need a Caterpillar D-8 with a handy garden rake attachement like the one I drew here. I would never complain about raking again, and I’ll bet the leaves would never dare to fall down on the lawn again.

4 responses to “Yardwork

  1. I grew up raking oak leaves up from 1.5 acres. First into piles, then onto tarps, then onto a burn pile out by the fence. Never again.

  2. You know the steep cobblestone road in between the Kinnear and the building between yours and ours, the one that gets covered in leaves, and then wet, and then quite slippery when you try to parallel park? Mischa and I raked all the leaves of that street, the gutters too. I think there were like 5 years of mildewed leaves… but we had fun. This is an excellent sketch of a bulldozer.

  3. A sense of power really comes across in this image. Lovely work!

Leave a Reply

